32.1 C
New Delhi
Sunday, May 19, 2024
- Advertisement -

IIFA Nominations: Alia Bhatt gets nominated in top categories, SRK nominated for his cameo role

IIFA Nominations: The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards nominations are led by Alia Bhatt’s two blockbusters of the year 2022, “Gangubai Kathiawadi” and “Brahmastra Part One: Shiva.” The 23rd edition of the IIFA Awards, which will be hosted at Yas Island in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, in February 2023, has unveiled the nominees for the popular categories on Monday.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali won best director and best picture for “Gangubai Kathiawadi,” which got eight nominations overall. Along with being a candidate for best director, Bhansali is also eyeing for the title of best music director. The movie, which was adapted from one of the chapters of the best-selling book “Mafia Queens of Mumbai” by renowned author Hussain Zaidi, is up for nominations in the categories of best playback vocalist (female), best plot (adapted), best lyrics, and best supporting actor (male) for Vijay Raaz.

Alia Bhatt’s film lead nomination this year

Alia Bhatt’s “Brahmastra Part One: Shiva,” in which her actor-husband Ranbir Kapoor is the leading actor, will compete for awards in the categories of best director, best supporting actor (both male and female), best music director, best original story, best playback singer (both male and female), and best lyrics.

Also Read: Alia Bhatt shares adorable pictures from Christmas eve, gets a kiss from husband Ranbir

“Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2,” “Darlings,” “Drishyam 2,” and “Vikram Vedha” are the additional nominees for the best picture award.
In the competition for the title of best director, Bhansali and Ayan Mukerji of “Brahmastra Part One: Shiva” fame are joined by Anees Bazmee of “Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2,” Jasmeet K. Reen of “Darlings,” Vasan Bala of “Monica O My Darling,” and R Madhavan (Rocketry: The Nambi Effect).

For her performance in Darlings, which was her first film as a producer, Bhatt received a second nomination in the best actor (female) category. Shefali Shah, Yami Gautam Dhar (A Thursday), Tabu, and her co-star from Darlings all pose competition for her (Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2).

Tabu is a finalist for best supporting actor (female). Sheeba Chadha (Badhaai Do), Mouni Roy (Brahmastra Part One: Shiva), Nimrat Kaur (Dasvi), and Radhika Apte accompany her (Monica O My Darling).

Along with Hrithik Roshan (“Vikram Vedha”), Abhishek Bachchan (“Dasvi”), Ajay Devgn (“Drishyam 2”), Rajkummar Rao (“Monica O My Darling”), and Anupam Kher (The Kashmir Files)., Kartik Aaryan is nominated in the category of best actor (male).

SRK nominated for THIS role

Because of his cameo in Brahmastra Part One: Shiva, superstar Shah Rukh Khan was unexpectedly nominated in the male best supporting actor category. He will compete against Sikander Kher, Abhishek Banerjee, Vijay Raaz.

Along with R Balki (Chup), Jasmeet K Reen, Parveez Shaikh, and Vivek Ranjan Agnihotri, Mukerji is nominated for best story (original), along with Akshat Ghildial and Suman Adhikary (Badhaai Do), and R Balki.

Who else is in the award nomination

The candidates for best story (adapted) include Pushkar, Gayatri, and BA Fida; Aamil Keeyan Khan and Abhishek Pathak (Drishyam 2); S Hussain Zaidi and Jane Borges (Gangubai Kathiawadi); Yogesh Chandekar (Monica O My Darling); and Madhavan (Rocketry: The Nambi Effect).

Pritam (Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2, Brahmastra Part One: Shiva), Oaff and Savera (Gehraiyaan), Tanishk Bagchi, Pozy, Kanishk Seth, and Vishal Shelke are other nominees for best music direction.

For “Rasiya” (Brahmastra Part One: Shiva) and “Jab Saiyaan,” (Gangubai Kathiawadi) Shreya Ghoshal has received two nominations for best playback singer (female). The other candidates in the same category are Lothika for “Doobey” (Gehraiyaan), Kavita Seth for “Rangi Sari” (Jugjugg Jeeyo), and Jonita Gandhi for the song Deva Deva (Brahmastra Part One: Shiva).

For “Kesariya” and “Deva Deva”, Arijit Singh is nominated in two categories for best male playback singer (Brahmastra Part One: Shiva). Other contenders for the prize include Mohit Chauhan for “Gehraiyaan” (reprise), Kanishk Seth for “Rangi Sari” (Jugjugg Jeeyo), and Aditya Rao for “Behney Do” (Rocketry: The Nambi Effect).

Also Read: Shahrukh Khan joins Salman Khan on his 57th birthday, fans say ‘The best, most intimate and close friendship in Bollywood’

The contenders for the award for best lyrics are Varun Grover for “Atak Gaya Hai” (from “Badhaai Do”), Amitabh Bhattacharya for “Kesariya” (from “Brahmastra Part One: Shiva”), AM Turaz for “Jab Saiyaan” (from “Gangubai Kathiawadi”), Ankur Tewari for “Gehraiyaan.”

The award ceremony will be hosted by actors Farhan Akhtar, Abhishek Bachchan, and Maniesh Paul. The Department of Culture and Tourism, Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi) and Miral, Abu Dhabi’s premier curator of immersive locations and experiences, are working together to host the yearly event.


- Advertisement -
Latest news
- Advertisement -
Related news